Rohit And Virat Rested For First Two ODIs Against Australia Ashwin Comes Back
By CricShots - Sep 18, 2023 8:58 pm
Views 21

BCCI has announced the Indian squads for the upcoming three-match ODI series at home during an online press conference which chief selector Ajit Agarkar and skipper Rohit Sharma addressed. They have announced two separate squads as they picked a 15-member squad for the first two ODIs and a 17-member squad for the last ODI and out of the second squad, the final 15 for the World Cup 2023 will be picked.

Team India
Team India

R Ashwin will return to the ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series against Australia, while senior players Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been rested for the first two matches. Axar Patel is also doubtful for the series due to an injury, but chief selector Ajit Agarkar is hopeful that he will be fit for the final match.

ALSO READ: Mohammed Siraj Talks About Record-Breaking Achievement In Asia Cup Final

India is looking to carry forward the momentum from their Asia Cup triumph into the ODI series against Australia, as both teams are among the favorites to win the World Cup, which will be played on Indian soil. Ashwin’s return to the ODI squad is a boost for India, as he is one of the most experienced bowlers in the world. He has taken 275 wickets in 115 ODIs, and his ability to bowl both off-spin and carrom balls will be valuable in the upcoming series.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been rested for the first two ODIs against Australia, but they will return for the final match. This is a good opportunity for India to test their bench strength and give some of their younger players a chance to perform.

ALSO READ: Wasim Akram Lauds Hardik Pandya As India’s Key Asset

Axar Patel is doubtful for the ODI series against Australia due to an injury. He sustained the injury during the Asia Cup, and it is not yet clear when he will be able to return to full fitness. If Axar is ruled out of the series, it will be a blow to India’s bowling attack.

Indian Squad for the first two ODIs:

KL Rahul (c), Ravindra Jadeja, (vc), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Washington Sundar

Indian Squad for the last ODI:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar