BCCI Announces Squads For The Complete Windies Tour
By CricShots - Jul 21, 2019 4:18 pm
Views 2.4K
Share Post

The Indian skipper, Virat Kohli will be leading the team in the complete Windies tour which comprises of 2 Tests, 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is, starting on August 3. the Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the complete squad on Sunday. Rishabh Pant has been selected as the first-choice wicket-keeper in the limited-over squads as MS Dhoni had made himself unavailable for the tour.

Indian cricket team

India’s premier fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah will be missing the ODIs and T20Is as he has been rested, but he will mark a comeback for the Test series. Among the young bowlers Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini have been included in the limited-overs squads. Among the batsmen, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer has been included in the side for their brilliance while playing for India A while Shikhar Dhawan has made a return to the ODI and T20I teams after suffering an injury during World Cup 2019.

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni To Miss The Windies Tour For Serving Armed Forces

Here are the squads:

Despite not being able to recover from the injury completely yet, Dhawan has been included in the limited-over squads while Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Hanuma Vihari and Umesh Yadav have made a return to the Test squad. Rahul Chahar received his maiden national call-up for the T20Is.

ALSO READ: BCCI Stunned as CoA Asks Virat Kohli and Shastri to Decide on WAGs Travel

Rahul has been rewarded for his consistent show in the IPL and domestic cricket with a berth in the T20I squad. He is younger cousin of seamer Deepak, who is also in the T20 squad. From the World Cup squad, the prominent player to be dropped is Dinesh Karthik while Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah for managing their workload.

India will play three-match Twenty20 International (T20Is) and as many One-Day Internationals (ODIs), followed by two-Test series against West Indies.