Global T20 Canada: Toronto Nationals Picks Up Yuvraj Singh For The Second Edition
By Shruti - Jun 21, 2019 12:02 pm
Views 128
Share Post

The second edition of Global T20 Canada is all set to take place from July 25 where former India player Yuvraj Singh will play for Toronto Nationals. Yuvraj Singh had announced his retirement earlier this month. He also mentioned that he will not take part in the Indian Premier League and would love to take part in the T20 Leagues around the World. Earlier he has taken permission from the BCCI as well, though it is not confirmed yet whether he got it or not. Although BCCI doesn’t give permission to any player to play an overseas T20 League.

“I want to play T20 cricket. At this age I can manage to play some kind of fun cricket. I want to go and enjoy my life. It’s been too stressful just thinking about my international career, performing and big tournaments like the IPL,” the 37-year-old had said in his retirement press conference. ​

Yuvraj Singh was an integral part of India team all those years, especially their 2011 World Cup win where he became the ‘Man of The Series’. Moreover, who can forget where he hit Stuart Broad for six 6s in an over and scored the fastest half-century off 12 balls in T20I cricket in the World T20 against England and he holds the record.

ALSO READ: Yuvraj Singh Urges BCCI To Allow Him To Play In The T20 Leagues

In the first edition of the tournament, nearly 1,600 players registered for the draft where 600 were from Canada. Ahead of the draft, ten international cricketers were named for the tournament. They are- Shahid Afridi, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Chris Lynn, Lasith Malinga, David Miller, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy and Steve Smith who had played for the franchises named Cricket West Indies B Team, Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks. In the final, Vancouver Knights registered a seven wickets win over Cricket West Indies B Team.

Yuvraj Singh

Earlier, New York Legends were named to replace Cricket West Indies B Team. However, the idea was canceled later and the Brampton Wolves were included as the sixth team in the tournament in June 2019. However, veteran Yuvraj Singh will play with former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum while current BLACKCAPS captain Kane Williamson will play for Edmondton. Chris Lynn (Winnipeg), Shakib Al Hasan (Brampton), Faf du Plessis (Edmondton), Shoaib Malik (Vancouver) and Colin Munro (Brampton) are among the new overseas signings.

ALSO READ: Team India To Wear Orange Jerseys Against England

On the other hand, Chris Gayle (Vancouver), Andre Russell (Vancouver), Kieron Pollard (Toronto), Dwayne Bravo (Winnipeg), Sunil Narine (Montreal) and Thisara Perera (Montreal) are among those players who have been retained.