Harbhajan Singh Bats For Sheldon Jackson’s Inclusion In Team India
By Aditya Pratap - Nov 9, 2021 9:17 pm
Views 62.2K

Former Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has questioned the Indian selectors for repeatedly overlooking Sheldon Jackson for the selection in the national team. Harbhajan mentioned how Sheldon has been performing so well in domestic cricket but is yet to be selected for the national team.

Harbhajan Singh
Harbhajan Singh raised his voice for Sheldon Jackson

Sheldon Jackson is a wicketkeeper-batter and is currently playing for Pudducherry in domestic cricket. In the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, he has scored three successive fifties but his batting efforts couldn’t knock on the doors of Indian selectors.

Also Read: Sheldon Jackson is disappointed after not receiving national call-up

BCCI announced the squad for the T20I series against New Zealand on Tuesday where several youngsters were named in the squad. But Sheldon Jackson is still missing despite doing well for so many years in domestic cricket.

Harbhajan Singh expressed his shock on Twitter where he mentioned what else does Sheldon need to do to be selected for the national team.

“Ranji season 2018/19 scored 854 and 2019/2020 scored 809 and also Ranji champion that year plus this year current form👇yet not getting picked even for India A team. Can 🇮🇳 selector tell him what else he needs to do to ply for India apart from scoring runs,” Harbhajan tweeted.

Also Read: Harbhajan Singh feels Yuzvendra Chahal is better spinner than Rahul Chahar

See the tweet here;

Saurashtra-born has been a part of the Kolkata Knight Riders squad in the Indian Premier League, where he didn’t get much chance to showcase his talent on the bigger stage. Last year, he left his domestic team Saurashtra and moved to play for Puducherry. He scored over 800 runs in the last two domestic seasons and still, he couldn’t make a case for himself in the national team, which prompted Harbhajan Singh to raise his voice for the talented batter.

India’s T20I squad for New Zealand series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj