IND vs BAN (2nd T20I): Rohit Sharma Guides India To A Dominating Win
By CricShots - Nov 7, 2019 10:44 pm
Views 60
Share Post

Team India has locked horns with Bangladesh in the second T20I of the three-match series at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.  After winning the toss, skipper Rohit Sharma decided to bowl first. However, Bangladesh batsmen started off strong but only managed to reach the total of 153/6 and India chased it down with more than 4 overs to spare and 8 wickets in hand. Both the teams made no changes in their respective squads.

Rohit Sharma scored a fifty

Bangladesh scored 54 runs without losing a single wicket in the first power play. India had success in the sixth over, but a mistake by wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant was costly. In the sixth over, Rohit handed the ball over to spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. Rishabh stumped on the third ball of the over, sending Liton Das back. However, the third umpire caught Rishabh’s mistake and the Bangladesh batsman got his life.

WATCH – Rohit Sharma Smashed Hat-trick Of Sixes To Mosaddek Hossain

Chahal could have had his first wicket of the match if not for wicketkeeper Pant’s slip-up behind the stumps.  However, Chahal eventually had Liton out which reduced the visitors to 103/4. Pant redeeming himself by hitting the stumps direct at the striker’s end. In his next over, Chahal got the wickets of Mushfiqur Rahim and Soumya Sarkar.  After that Bangladesh only managed to reach a total of 153/16 in their quota of 20 overs owing to a brilliant death over bowling of India.

Yuzvendra Chahal was the star with the ball

During the chase, Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan started off with a bang as they amassed 63 runs in the first powerplay. However, the real joy came in the 10th over as Rohit started it with a hat-trick of sixes. The first one was over deep mid-wicket followed by the one over deep square leg and the last one came over long-on. All of them came on short deliveries. 

WATCH – Chahal Dismisses Mushfiqur And Sarkar In The Same Over

In the next two over India lost both the openers as Rohit (85) was dismissed by Aminul Islam while Dhawan (31) was dismissed by the same bowler. However, Shreyas Iyer and Kl Rahul made sure that India suffers no more hiccups as India chased it down in the 16th overs with 8 wickets in hand. 

Brief Scores:

India – 154/8 in 15.4 overs (R Sharma: 85, S Dhawan: 31; A Islam: 2/29) defeated Bangladesh – 153/6 in 20 overs (M Naim: 36; Y Chahal: 2/28, D Chahar: 1/25) by 8 wickets and 26 balls to spare

Here is how Twitter reacted to India’s win: