India To Face Australia And New Zealand In T20 World Cup 2022 Warm-ups
By CricShots - Sep 8, 2022 2:23 pm
Views 160

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday confirmed the fixtures for the warm-up and qualifiers games for all the 16 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 with matches to be played across Brisbane and Melbourne. Team India will play warm-ups against Australia and New Zealand on October 17 and 19 at the Gabba, Brisbane. First Round teams will commence their preparations in Melbourne, with matches split between the Melbourne Cricket Ground and Junction Oval from October 10-13.

Team India
Team India

In its official press release, ICC said, “Teams starting in the Super 12 stage will play all warm-up fixtures over two match days in Brisbane on October 17 and 19. These matches will be played at The Gabba and Allan Border Field.”

ALSO READ: Wasim Akram Gives A Crucial Advice To Rohit Sharma After Asia Cup Exit

The first warm-up fixture will feature two-time champions West Indies locking horns with the United Arab Emirates at Junction Oval on October 10, with each of the First-Round teams to play two warm-up matches each. Hosts Australia will play their only official warm-up fixture against India on October 17 at The Gabba. In addition to Australia, world number one India will face New Zealand on October 19, also at The Gabba.

Fans will not be allowed to attend the warm-up games, however, the four warm-up matches at The Gabba on October 17 and 19 will be broadcast live by the ICC’s Global Broadcast Partner Star Sports. Also, the ICC digital channels will feature live scores and match highlights for all matches.

ALSO READ: Shoaib Akhtar Feels Afghanistan Lost The Match Because Of Their On-field Behavior

As per previous ICC events, the warm-up fixtures will not carry official T20 International status. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 begins on October 16 when Sri Lanka faces Namibia at Kardinia Park Stadium in Geelong.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 warm-up fixtures:

  • 10 Oct – West Indies v UAE, Junction Oval
  • 10 Oct – Scotland v Netherlands, Junction Oval
  • 10 Oct – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, MCG
  • 11 Oct – Namibia v Ireland, MCG
  • 12 Oct – West Indies v Netherlands, MCG
  • 13 Oct – Zimbabwe v Namibia, Junction Oval
  • 13 Oct – Sri Lanka v Ireland, Junction Oval
  • 13 Oct – Scotland v UAE, MCG
  • 17 Oct – Australia v India, The Gabba
  • 17 Oct – New Zealand v South Africa, Allan Border Field
  • 17 Oct – England v Pakistan, The Gabba
  • 17 Oct – Afghanistan v Bangladesh, Allan Border Field
  • 19 Oct – Afghanistan v Pakistan, The Gabba
  • 19 Oct – Bangladesh v South Africa, Allan Border Field
  • 19 Oct – New Zealand v India, The Gabba