Jos Buttler Names His All-time IPL XI; MS Dhoni Gets A Place
By SMCS - May 16, 2021 3:48 pm
Views 19.4K
Share Post

England wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler has recently named his all-time IPL XI after the tournament got suspended this season due to the surge of COVID-19 cases inside bio-bubble. However, the swashbuckling opener has been played a vital role for Rajasthan Royals in the cash-rich league as well.

buttler samson
Jos Buttler and Sanju Samson

Notably, he slammed a century this season just before the league got cancelled. However, he has played only for two franchises in his six-year stint in the franchise league. Notably, he made his debut with Mumbai Indians in 2016 under Rohit Sharma and later, Rajasthan Royals bought him in the 2018 mega auction.

Since then, he has been performing well. It is also noteworthy that, Rajasthan-based franchise has been dependent on his explosive start in the power-play as he started opening for them. Meanwhile, the new captain Sanju Samson has also become a key player for the franchise throughout the years.

READ HERE: “He is the real deal” – Aakash Chopra on Chetan Sakariya

However, Jos Buttler recently picked his team where Samson failed to get a slot. He didn’t even add one of the IPL’s consistent performers Suresh Raina. It can’t be denied that Raina has been a pillar in Chennai Super Kings’ team in the middle-order since the beginning. And, his absence felt last season where CSK failed to qualify for the playoffs for the very first time in the league.

But, the captain of CSK, MS Dhoni got a place in the playing eleven. However, Jos Buttler idolises Dhoni for his captaincy skills and experience in the league over the years. He also named him the wicket-keeper as well. And who doesn’t know Dhoni’s expertise behind the stumps?

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma got a place in the team as the opening batsman alongside Jos himself. Both had played together in IPL 2016 for Mumbai Indians. So far, Buttler has 1968 runs in 64 innings in IPL with a stunning strike rate of 150 in his name. Royal Challengers Bangalore duo Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers have also found places in the middle for their consistency. Meanwhile, Buttler picked up Kieron Pollard in the middle-order as well and he shared these in Cricbuzz Plus.

ALSO READ: Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips earn New Zealand contract

However, he named four bowlers and CSK’a key all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is one of the two all-rounders in the playing eleven as well. Apart from him, veteran Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh and Sri Lanka speedster Lasith Malinga have also been added. And the last two slots went to Indian pace duo – Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. While the former is known as death over specialist, the latter’s Yorker at death and his ability to swing the ball both ways can trouble any batsman in the world.

All-time IPL XI of Jos Buttler:

Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (WK), Kieron Pollard, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga