Pak vs NZ: No DRS will be used during the white-ball series
By SMCS - Sep 10, 2021 3:30 pm
Views 43

The Decision Review System (DRS) will not be available during Pakistan’s home series against New Zealand this month. The PCB has confirmed on Thursday that DRS would not be used during the limited-overs series comprising of three ODIs and five T20Is between Pakistan and New Zealand which is all set to start from September 17.

Pakistan Cricket Team

However, there was no official mention of reasons in PCB’s press release, sources have confirmed the news to the Geo News that PCB was forced to drop that from umpiring protocols for the upcoming series due to the unavailability of operators during the match as well.

READ HERE: Aakash Chopra opens up on New Zealand’s T20 World Cup squad

“It is not just about the availability of technology, it is also about the availability of people who can use the technology according to the described method,” the source said. “It is important to have ICC-approved DRS operators in international events and operators were not available during the period, that’s why the PCB has dropped DRS from the series.”

However, the source stated that the PCB will manage to have the technology as well as the operators during the two-match T20I series against England which will take place next month as well.

New Zealand
New Zealand bowlers ran through the Indian batsmen

Meanwhile, New Zealand has announced a different squad for the ICC T20 World Cup and their upcoming tours. Their near four-month Asian tour will start with the series against Bangladesh and they will leave on August 23. Tom Latham will lead the squad for Bangladesh, where they will play five T20Is. Notably, none of the players named in the squad for the India tour and ICC World T20 will take part in the series against Bangladesh as well.

READ HERE: Shaun Tait explains why speedsters struggle to bowl 150+kmph

Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

Squad for Pakistan T20Is: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young