Sanjay Manjrekar Gives Clarification On His ‘All-time Great’ Remark For Ashwin
By Aditya Pratap - Jun 7, 2021 10:35 pm
Views 4.5K
Share Post

Sanjay Manjrekar’s comment on Ravichandran Ashwin’s legendary status has made quite a stir around the cricketing fraternity. He refused to give Ashwin an all-time great status keeping his bowling stats in SENA countries in mind. However, he has come up with an explanation to defend his earlier remarks.

ashwin stokes
Ravi Ashwin

Ashwin has been India’s premium bowler since making his debut. He has been a threat to the oppositions when teams were touring India for Test matches. He has already bagged over 400 Test wickets and is the leading wicket-taker since making his international debut in all three formats combined.

Also Read: Sanjay Manjrekar says Ashwin is not an ‘all-time great’

Despite all this, Manjrekar feels it’s not right to call him “All-time great”.

“When people start talking about him as being one of the all-time greats of the game then I have a few problems. One basic problem I have with Ashwin is that when you look at SENA countries, Ashwin doesn’t have a single five-wicket haul there,” Manjrekar said.

He gave clarification over his recent statement on Twitter, where he said ‘All-time great’ is the highest praise for any player and Ashwin is not quite there yet.

“‘All-time great’ is the highest praise & acknowledgement given to a cricketer. Cricketers like Don Bradman, Sobers, Gavaskar, Tendulkar, Virat etc are all-time greats in my book. With due respect, Ashwin not quite there as an all-time great yet. #AllTimeGreatExplained,” his tweet reads.

See his tweet;

Also Read: Sanjay Manjrekar opens up on India’s struggle against New Zealand

Ashwin is currently with Team India in England and is gearing up for the all-important World Test Championship Final against New Zealand in Southampton, which will begin on June 18. Later on, India will take on England in a five-match Test series, which is scheduled to begin in August.

The first Test against England will be held in Trent Bridge, followed by Lord’s, Headingley, Kennington Oval and Manchester.