Sanjay Manjrekar Names His Indian Playing XI For WTC Final
By Aditya Pratap - Jun 15, 2021 9:51 pm
Views 690

Former Indian cricketer Sanjay Manjrekar names his playing XI that Team India should field against New Zealand in the upcoming World Test Championship Final in Southampton. Both teams will play in the inaugural final of the WTC from June 18, which will be played at Ageas Bowl stadium.

ishant sharma
Ishant Sharma is missing from Sanjay Manjrekar’s XI for the final

Team India has named a 15-men squad for the final on Tuesday a few hours later than New Zealand. Indian team management is pondering to fit in Mohammad Siraj in the playing XI for the final in place of Ishant Sharma or Mohammed Shami.

Also Read: A fan leaked conversation with Sanjay Manjrekar where he is demeaning Ravindra Jadeja

Meanwhile, Sanjay Manjrekar mentioned the playing XI whom he feels should take the field against New Zealand.

He kept out Ishant Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja out from his XI. Ishant is the most experienced player in the squad and has played over 100 Test matches, where he managed to grab 303 wickets. On the other hand, Ravindra Jadeja is in sensational form with both bat and ball. He has shone on almost every given opportunity.

Manjrekar backed youngster Shubhman Gill to open the batting along with Rohit Sharma. Interestingly, he named Hanuma Vihari at number six in the batting lineup and decided to go with four bowlers in his predicted XI.

Also Read: Sanjay Manjrekar feels Jaydev Unadkat deserves a place in Sri Lanka-bound Team India

“I’m assuming you have typical English conditions. I’m assuming there will be a mixture of sun and cloudy cover throughout the five days of the Test match if it goes the distance. So, I’m picking the team accordingly,” Manjrekar told to ESPNcricinfo.

mohammed siraj
Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand are coming in the final after defeating England in a two-match Test series by 1-0, which is their first series win in England since 1999. Kane Williamson will eye to land his hands on his first ICC trophy after falling short in the final of World Cup 2019.

Sanjay Manjrekar’s Playing XI for WTC Final: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.