Tilak Varma gets ODI call up as India squad announced for the Asia Cup 2023
By SMCS - Aug 21, 2023 1:43 pm
Views 223

BCCI announced the India squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. While the veteran wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson has been dropped to reserve, Swashbuckling India batter Tilak Varma has earned his maiden ODI call-up. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) men’s selection committee announced the 17-player squad for the upcoming mega event on August 21. The tournament will begin in Multan on August 30.

Jasprit bumrah

However, captain Rohit Sharma, head coach Rahul Dravid, and BCCI secretary Jay Shah were also present for the selection meeting at the Taj Palace in New Delhi as well. It is also noteworthy that, Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul both have been picked in the India squad for the upcoming marquee event in Sri Lanka. Both of them were recovering well from long-term injuries and they were out of action for a long time. With the all-important ICC Cricket World Cup coming up in less than two months, India will get a massive boost with their inclusion as well. Tilak Varma, who was impressive in his maiden international series in West Indies, is expected to do well.

READ MORE: Virat Kohli shares the importance of maintaining diet

Meanwhile, pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah, who made his much-awaited return in Ireland, will be leading the pace attack that also has experienced players like Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Prasidh Krishna and bowling allrounder Shardul Thakur as well. On the other hand, the selection committee has dropped the veteran spinner, Yuzvendra Chahal. They have picked Kuldeep Yadav as the leading spinner alongside spin-bowling all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel as well.

India West Indies
India and West Indies players going out due to a delay

READ MORE: “Can be the future captain of India” – Kiran More on Ruturaj Gaikwad

India squad for Asia Cup:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan(wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Prasidh Krishna.