Umpire Chris Gaffney was immensely criticized after he twice gave Chris Gayle out during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 encounter between West Indies and Australia only for the decision to be reversed on both the occasions. Mitchell Starc trapped Gayle in front of the stumps in two overs time as the decision stayed with the umpire this time around despite Gayle reviewing it. However, the replays showed that the ball should have been a free-hit as Gaffney failed to spot a massive no-ball the previous delivery.
The DRS was first taken in the third over of the second innings when Starc bowled an incoming delivery to Gayle and Gaffney had no hesitation in raising his finger. The southpaw straightaway went for the referral and replays confirmed that there was no bat involved and the ball had kissed the off stump with the bails refusing to fall.
On the very next ball, Starc delivered an inswinging yorker which caught Gayle by surprise and Gaffney again raised his finger and the Australians started celebrating but Gayle again went for the review for a second time with an angry look on his face and was proven right once again. The ball was missing the leg stump by quite some distance and the umpire’s decision had to be overturned for the second time in a row.
Here is the video of the same:
Gayle's fight with DRS..!! pic.twitter.com/wj4wB10h5o
— Vidshots (@Vidshots1) June 7, 2019
Gayle finally ran out of luck two overs later when Starc found plumb in front of the stumps. Gaffney was the umpire again and he decided to raise his finger yet again to give him out for the third time. Gayle went for the DRS once again but the decision stayed with the umpire this time around with ball-tracker showing that the ball would have kissed the leg stump. THowever, in replays it was shown that the previous delivery bowled by Starc was a massive no-ball which meant that the ball which accounted for Gayle’s wicket should have been a free-hit.
The decision proved to be a game-changing one as Gayle was dismissed for a 17 ball 21 as West Indies lost their second wicket for just 31 runs chasing 289. Former cricketers, as well as fans, took to Twitter to express their resentment over the decision which eventually cost West Indies the match by 15 runs.
Here is how Twitter reacted after Gayle’s dismissal:
Looks like today umpire Chris Gaffeny came to target Chris Gayle and finally hit his goal in ICC cricket world cup match no 10 between Australia and West Indies. Poor umpiring#cwc19 #AUSvWI pic.twitter.com/iy3Qr0HgRz
— World Cup 2019 (@SadiAhmedDogar) June 6, 2019
@ICC @cricketworldcup umpiring at it's worst.All decisions are going wrong. Ball before @henrygayle dismissal was a no ball, but not given, it was supposed to be a free hit on which he got dismissed. #AUSvWI #chrisgayle #WorldCup2019 #WC19 pic.twitter.com/69ZIA7UFTk
— Subash Rajan (@SubashRajan12) June 6, 2019
How on earth did umpire Chris Gaffney could miss calling this a no-ball, #MitchellStarc is past crease by almost 4 inches. Rightly @henrygayle got out on a free hit ball. Poor standards of umpiring. #AUSvWI #WorldCup2019 #Gayle pic.twitter.com/IrmZbsAxkk
— Pradeep kumar™ (@Pradeep_kumar27) June 6, 2019
Omg….! Why this umpire be so careless..
It's a noball before the wicket of Chris Gayle. Technically it should be a freehit.He was so unlucky today given out multiple times poor umpiring.Arnold and VB sir what you think of it. #staraikelungal #staraikelugal pic.twitter.com/vJbwM0OqRU
— anandha Kumar (@adayar333) June 6, 2019
@ICC kindly ask Chris Gaffeny how much money he took from the Australians. Is this a joke? It's a World Cup game and you've such terrible umpires in your panel? You should make a new rule of checking the ball bowled before also. #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/V4pybt35O1
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) June 6, 2019
Massive no-ball, the ball that got Gayle out should have been a free-hit. It is understandable when a close no-ball is not given, missing this one is criminal. With third umpire no-ball checks on fall of wickets, on-field umpires aren’t even checking NBs. #Criminal pic.twitter.com/ipOwQgQgiG
— Rehan Ulhaq (@Rehan_ulhaq) June 6, 2019
This is a CRIME by Third Umpire & he should be held accountable for carelessness, as it could impact d hard work of years of a team, with so much at stake at this level. If you miss one of the core steps of 5 point Checklist, its unpardonable #HumanErros #AUSvWI #Gayle dismissal pic.twitter.com/WUTY0Ds6Ef
— Pavan Jha (@p1j) June 6, 2019
It seemed umpire was in a hurry to send Chris Gayle back. Gayle went for DRS thrice and survived 2 of them and on the 3rd one he was given LBW on umpire's call. 1/2#CWC19 #AusVsWI pic.twitter.com/UNcCmgOM8J
— Vishal Chitara 🇮🇳 (@VishalChitara) June 6, 2019
— Syedyasik1010 (@syedyasik1010) June 6, 2019
This is such a big NO BALL, that it doesn't deserve to be call a no ball. Insult to NO BALLS. and Gayle gone on the next ball whuch was suppose to be a free hit.
Such poor umpiring in #CWC19 @ICC pic.twitter.com/oqtf4ikbxD
— Méğhâ Bíśhţ (@mebi31) June 6, 2019