Bangladesh and wrong DRS calls aren’t a new thing to hear in a cricketing fraternity as it happens almost. On Tuesday, during an ICC World Cup 2019 match against India at the Edgbaston in Birmingham, the Indian skipper, Virat Kohli played a flick shot, and the Mushfiqur Rahim wanted to go for a review, only to be denied by the umpire as the time was up.
After winning the toss, Rohit had decided to bat first and the openers, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul provided a very good platform for the men in blue and after that Kohli and Rishabh Pant had the responsibility to carry forward the momentum. However, as the wicket slowed down, Soumya Sarkar bowled slow deliveries on a regular basis and barred the Indian duo in check.
However, on the fourth ball of the 36th over, Sarkar bowled a fuller length delivery on off and Virat flicked it comfortably to backward square leg. The sound clearly suggested that the ball had come off the bat, but Mushfiqur thought it otherwise and asked his skipper to take the DRS call.
By the time Mortaza understood the situation and decided to go for the DRS and check with umpire Marais Erasmus, India had already completed two runs. Much to Bangladesh’s dismay, the umpire also told the Bangladesh skipper that the time was up and he couldn’t go upstairs. Although Mortaza went back to his fielding position disappointed, the on-screen replay must have made him happy as it was clear from the bat first and Bangladesh would have lost their review.
Here is the video of the incident: