The veteran Indian opener, Rohit Sharma was looking in a classy touch before getting out in the 6th over of the ICC World Cup 2019 match against West Indies. He was visibly disappointed while walking back to the pavilion after adjudged caught behind at Old Trafford in Manchester.
In the same over, Sharm had smashed a six over the square leg boundary, but he was in some trouble when Kemar Roach got one to swing into the right-handed batsman. West Indies went up in appeal for caught behind as it seemed Rohit had got an inside edge onto the wicketkeeper. The on-field umpire Richard Illingworth gave it not out and the West Indies captain Jason Holder send it upstairs for a DRS call.
Replays, it is safe to say, were inconclusive. The Snicko had spikes on it as the ball crossed the bat but it wasn’t providing conclusive evidence as to whether the ball brushed Rohit’s pad or his bat or both. Nonetheless, after only a couple of replays, third umpire Michael Gough ruled it out. Gough’s decision to rule it out helped raise quite a few eyebrows, as umpires tend to check such calls quite closely.
Here is the video of the same:
— Vidshots (@Vidshots1) June 27, 2019
On-field commentator Sanjay Manjrekar pointed out that there could have been bat but the visuals didn’t prove anything conclusive.
Manjrekar said, “I would have taken a little bit of time to be absolutely sure. The batsman didn’t think so. The bowler was absolutely confident. There was definitely pad involved but was there any bat at all?” Another commentator, Michael Atherton added: “West Indies bowlers were equally convinced, absolutely clear gap between bat and pad, the problem with the third umpire is that the ball passes the bat and pad almost simultaneously. The on-field decision is key there and you have to be absolutely convinced to overrule it.”
The cricket fraternity on social media wasn’t convinced with the third umpire’s decision either and here are some of the reactions:
Was there enough conclusive evidence to give Rohit caught-behind? I’m not so sure….but that’s strictly my opinion. Umpire giving it Not-Out is the equivalent of a soft-signal in this case…. #CWC19 #IndvWI
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) June 27, 2019
— Sai Swaroop Bedamatta (@swaroop560) June 27, 2019
Even my 11-month old daughter would have more time to decide on that decision of Rohit Sharma.
There is just too much at stake for third umpires to make mistakes
— Nikhil 🏏 (@CricCrazyNIKS) June 27, 2019
For once I'm not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn't either.
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
— subramani badrinath (@s_badrinath) June 27, 2019
— VenuGopala Rao (@IMVenuGopalRao) June 27, 2019
— Hitchy (@hitchwriter) June 27, 2019
That was #NOTOUT , bat pad close together , no confirmation that ball hit bat, no snicko, on field decision was #NOTOUT , so how did 3rd umpire give it out ? 🤨🤔🙄#cwc19 #cwc2019 #indvwi #indvswi #wc19 #wc2019
— Ashutosh Paibhale 🇮🇳( Mr PredictKar) (@astutetosh) June 27, 2019
What an absurd decision by the third umpire. The ball looked more like hitting Rohit Sharma’s pads than his bat. #INDvWI
— Bhakt Tippler (@MrTippler) June 27, 2019
Ball clearly hit the pad and there was a gap between the ball and the bat when there was a spike. 3rd Umpire didn't even take a second look, just went ahead with it. Shocking decision. #CWC19
— Sripad (@falsewinger) June 27, 2019
— Engr. Farrukh (@farrukhzx) June 27, 2019
— Gaurav Kalra (@gauravkalra75) June 27, 2019
Full sun on the ball, in the picture, on the right frame. Ball has hit the pad not the bat. Technology making the world a clearer picture, NOT!
Rohit has to accept the umpires decision, ctrl+alt+delete!#cwc2019🏆… https://t.co/FXRgzrFcMv
— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) June 27, 2019