Stats Shots
WI vs IND: Rohit Sharma Now Holds Most Of T20I Batting Records
By CricShots - Aug 5, 2019 2:41 pm
Views 29
Share Post

The Indian all-rounder, Krunal Pandya’s all-round performance combined with the deputy skipper, Rohit Sharma dominating half-century powered India to a series-clinching 22-run win over West Indies in the rain-affected second T20I at Lauderhill on Sunday.

Rohit Sharma scored a 50

After winning the toss, the Indian skipper, Virat Kohli decided to bat first, India scored a challenging 167 for five and then had West Indies in some serious trouble at 98 for four in the 16th over when lightning and thunderstorms struck. The Duckworth-Lewis par score at that point was 120, and West Indies were 22 runs behind.

ALSO READ: Australian Journalist Demeans Kohli To Praise Smith, Gets Trolled Back

During his fifty, Rohit surpassed Chris Gayle’s record of 105 sixes by hitting three maximums on his way to a 51-ball 67. He needed four sixes to go past Gayle’s record at the start of the three-match series. During his knock of 24 in the opening game, Sharm smashed a couple of sixes. On Sunday, he smashed another three to lead the tally with 107 sixes. New Zealand’s Martin Guptill has 103.

Virat Kohli

On the way to his 28 off 23 balls, Kohli went past Suresh Raina’s record to become the highest run-getter among Indians in T20 cricket. Raina held the top spot with 8392 runs, while Kohli entered the game with 8388.

ALSO READ: Twitterati Feels Rishabh Pant Can Never Replace MS Dhoni

Here are some of the other records made in the game:

  • Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have now added 10 fifty-plus stands in T20Is which is the second most by any pair after Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson (11).
  • Rohit Sharma has now scored 21 fifty-plus scores in T20Is – the most by any player, going past Virat Kohli’s 20 such scores.
  • West Indies have now lost 57 T20Is which is the joint-most for any team along with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
  • India is now the second team to win five consecutive T20Is against West Indies after Pakistan, who did in 2016-17.