4 Players From Mumbai Squad Ahead Of SMAT Tested Covid-19 Positive
By CricShots - Oct 28, 2021 4:05 pm
Views 3.4K

Four cricketers from the Mumbai squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament have tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of the upcoming. As per the reports in ANI, their sources within the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) confirmed the development on Wednesday. India’s deputy skipper in Test cricket, Ajinkya Rahane will be leading the Mumbai team in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

Mumbai Team

Confirming the same, one of the sources of ANI said, “Yes, Shams Mulani, Sairaj Patil, Sarfaraz Khan, and Prashant Solanki have tested positive for COVID-19. They will now miss the league stage of the tournament, the rest of the players have departed for Guwahati to take part in the tournament.”

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya Finally Starts Bowling For Team India In The Nets

With Rahane being captain of the Mumbai squad, Prithvi Shaw will be playing the role of his deputy while Yashasvi Jaiswal has also been named in the 20-member squad. Sarfaraz Khan, Prashant Solanki, Shams Mulani, and Sairaj Patil were found to be Covid positive and were sent home and told to self-isolate for seven days.

Sarfaraz Khan

The Senior Selection Committee of Mumbai Cricket Association consisting of Salil Ankola (Chairman), Gulam Parkar, Sunil More, Prasad Desai, and Anand Yalvigi had selected the following players to represent Mumbai in Syed Mushtaq All T20 Trophy scheduled to be commencing on November 4 in Guwahati.

Mumbai will square off against Karnataka in their first match of the tournament on November 4.

ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly Resigns As Director Of ATK Mohun Bagan To Avoid Conflict

Mumbai squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare, Shivam Dube, Tushar Deshpande, Sarfaraz Khan, Prashant Solanki, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Dhaval Kulkarni, Hardik Tamore, Mohit Awasthi, Siddhesh Lad, Sairaj Patil, Aman Khan, Arman Jaffer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tanush Kotian, Deepak Shetty, Roystan Dias.