5 temporary Indian captains with 100% record
By CricShots - Jul 5, 2017 5:00 pm
Views 61

India had as many as 33 Test captains, 23 ODI captains and five in T20Is. But, very few of them have a 100% record. Check out the full list of temporary Indian skippers who have 100% captaincy record here:

1. Ravi Shastri

Former Indian all-rounder Ravi Shastri is one of the two Indian skippers who have 100% win record in the longest format of the game. He led India in a Test match against West Indies in Chennai, in 1988. Against a strong batting line-up comprising of Sir Viv Richards, Desmond Haynes, Richie Richardson and other, Shastri led India not only as the captain but also as bowler.

Shastri was not only was famous for this innings due to his win as captain but his bowling that led India to victory. As a result, India won the Test by 255 runs, leveling the series 1-1.

2. Virender Sehwag

A few people know that former Indian opener Virender Sehwag was India’s first T20I captain when he led Team India against South Africa in 2006. India won that match by six wickets at Johannesburg. It was the only T20I match Sehwag played as India’s captain because immediately after that MS Dhoni was announced India’s skipper, ahead of the ICC World T20 2007.

3. Gautam Gambhir


The ODI series against New Zealand in 2010 was Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy debut and India whitewashed the visitors like a walk in the park. Statistically, Gambhir is one of the best temporary captains India has ever had. As India’s skipper, Gambhir has scored 329 runs at an average of 109.6 and a strike rate also more than 100, including two unbeaten centuries and a man of the series award. Gambhir also led India in another ODI match against West Indies and won it. So, his captaincy record in international cricket reads 6 ODIs, 6 wins.

4. Suresh Raina

Among the five T20I captains India have had, only two have 100% win record and Suresh Raina is one of them. The 2010 tour of Zimbabwe, under Raina’s leadership India registered a comprehensive series win. He also led the side in 2011 West Indies series and the result came out in India’s favor. His average as T20I captain (51) is far better than his career average.

5. Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane is the only Indian captain to have a 100% win record in two different formats. Earlier in 201, Rahane led India in the Test match against Australia after Indian skipper Virat Kohli picked a shoulder injury. He also led India in India’s 2015 tour of Zimbabwe. India won all three ODIs and claimed the series 3-0.