Social Shots
9-year-old Tweet Of Rohit Sharma About His Captaincy Goes Viral
By CricShots - Nov 17, 2021 12:09 pm
Views 72

India and New Zealand will be locking horns with a three-match T20I series against New Zealand at home, and this T20I series will commence on 17th November 2021. The first T20I will be played in Jaipur. And, this series will mark the beginning of a new era in Indian cricket as Rohit Sharma has officially been appointed as India’s T20I captain, and this will be the Hitman’s first assignment as the full-time skipper of Team India.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

And, Sharma’s tweet 9 years back, dated 7th November 2012 has now gone viral on social media. He had tweeted, “Touched down on Jaipur, and yes I will be leading the side, looking forward to the added responsibility.”

ALSO READ: Kyle Jamieson To Miss Three T20Is Against India To Focus On Tests

This tweet actually refers to Rohit Sharma leading the Mumbai side in a Ranji Trophy match at the KL Saini Ground in Jaipur. And now, he will be leading the team once again in Jaipur, nine years later, to lead the Indian cricket team as the full-time captain in T20Is against New Zealand.

Team India suffered an early exit from the 2021 T20 World Cup 2021 as they were eliminated from the Super 12 stages of the tournament. In the 5 matches that the ‘Men in Blue’ played, they won 3 matches. India lost their first couple of games to Pakistan and New Zealand and won their next 3 matches against Afghanistan, Scotland, and Namibia.

ALSO READ: Rahul Dravid And Rohit Sharma Recalls Their First Interaction

On the other hand, New Zealand reached the finale of the tournament and lost to Australia in the final. Kane Williamson and his men won 4 out of their 5 matches in the group stages. The Kiwis then registered a thrilling win over England in a thrilling encounter in the semifinal but went down to eventual champions Australia in the summit clash.

The 2nd and 3rd T20Is of the series between India and New Zealand will be played on 19th and 21st November 2021. While the second match will be played at Ranchi, the third match will be held in Kolkata.