News
Aaron Finch Receives Fine For His Obscenity ON The Field
By CricShots - Oct 11, 2022 12:53 pm
Views 15

Australia’s T20I skipper, Aaron Finch has received a fine for an on-field audible obscenity incident that took place during the first T20I against England in Perth on Sunday. Finch was found to have breached the Level 1 ICC Code of Conduct, using inappropriate language during the ninth over of England’s innings. He found he breach of Article 2.3 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “use of an audible obscenity during an International Match.”

aaron finch
Aaron Finch is confident about Australia

Aaron Finch has acknowledged the offense and received an official reprimand and one demerit point was added to his disciplinary record. While the offense was Finch’s first in the last 24 months, he will stand a chance to receive suspension should further incidents occur during the remainder of the series or at the upcoming T20 World Cup.

ALSO READ: R Ashwin Gives A Harsh Reply To Ramiz Raja’s ‘Billion Dollar Team’ Jibe

When a player reaches four or more demerit points within a 24-month period, they are converted into suspension points and a player is banned. Under the captaincy of Aaron Finch, Australia will be locking horns with England for a couple of T20Is against England in Canberra on October 12 and 14 before the defending champions begin their T20 World Cup campaign against New Zealand on October 22 in Sydney.

Australia
Australian team

In the first T20I, Australia suffered a narrow eight-run defeat against England. More than the loss, the match grabbed a lot of eyeballs for an unwanted controversy that happened during Australia’s run-chase. Australia’s Matthew Wade was involved in obstructing the field incident during the 17th over when Australia needed only 39 off 23 balls.

ALSO READ: Rahul Dravid Gave Throwdowns To Virat Kohli In Nets In Perth

The incident happened on the 3rd ball of the 17th over, when Mark Wood hurried Wade with a sharp short ball, which the left-hander top-edged onto his helmet. Mark Wood tried to go for the catch in his follow-through, but Matthew Wade put his hand out to stop the pace from making a full attempt as he dived into his crease. This led to both Wood and England skipper, Jos Buttler asking questions from the umpire over what Matthew Wade did. The two umpires conversed for a bit, but in the end, Wade wasn’t declared out. 

×