IPL 2024
Abhishek Porel’s Spectacular 25-Run Blitz Against Harshal Patel
By CricShots - Mar 23, 2024 6:04 pm
Views 15

In the opening match of IPL 2024 between Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings, a thrilling encounter unfolded with an unexpected twist, leaving fans on the edge of their seats. The newly-built Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Stadium in Mohali witnessed an enthralling showdown as Delhi Capitals took on Punjab Kings in a battle of supremacy.

Abhishek Porel
Abhishek Porel smashed 25 runs in the last over

Delhi Capitals, after being put in to bat first by PBKS skipper Shikhar Dhawan, faced a daunting task. However, they managed to put up a commendable total of 174 for 9 on the scoreboard, thanks to a stellar performance by Impact Substitute Abhishek Porel. Porel’s explosive innings of 32 runs off just 10 deliveries, including four boundaries and two sixes, turned the tide in Delhi’s favor.

The turning point came in the final over, where Abhishek Porel unleashed a relentless onslaught on Punjab Kings’ pacer Harshal Patel, smashing him for 25 runs. This stunning display of power hitting left Patel reeling and drew the attention of fans online, with Delhi Capitals playfully trolling the pacer for his inability to contain Porel’s onslaught.

WATCH – Rishabh Pant Receives Standing Ovation From Crowd In Emotional Return

Despite a promising start by openers David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, Punjab Kings fought back valiantly, with their spinners tightening the screws on Delhi’s batting lineup. Harpreet Brar emerged as the most economical bowler for PBKS, conceding just 14 runs in three overs, while Arshdeep Singh scalped two crucial wickets to keep the opposition in check.


As the match reached its climax, Abhishek Porel’s blazing knock propelled Delhi Capitals to a competitive total, setting the stage for an exhilarating second innings. Despite Patel’s efforts, finishing with two wickets albeit conceding 47 runs in his four overs on his PBKS debut, the Impact Substitute’s fireworks stole the spotlight, leaving cricket enthusiasts eager for more action-packed encounters in the IPL 2024 season.

WATCH – Kuldeep Yadav Reflects On Ricky Ponting’s Influence At Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant (C)(WK), Ricky Bhui, Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Ishant Sharma.

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan (C), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Shashank Singh.