IPL 2023
Abhishek Sharma Concedes 5 Sixes To Keep LSG’s Playoff Hopes Alive
By CricShots - May 13, 2023 8:22 pm
Views 38

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) all-rounder, Abhishek Sharma had a day to forget in the 58th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 as he conceded 31 runs in one over against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) on Saturday. This meant that the SRH all-rounder went joint-highest for the most runs conceded in an over by a bowler this season alongside GT’s Yash Dayal. Abhishek had a terrible day with the bat as he failed to make an impact after being dismissed for just seven runs from five balls.

Abhishek Sharma
Abhishek Sharma conceded 31 runs

After the opener’s dismissal, Anmolpreet Singh and Rahul Tripathi made a partnership that helped SRH score more than 50 in the powerplay overs. Cameos from Heinrich Klaasen and Abdul Samad gave the hosts much-needed momentum and they managed to reach the total of 182, which looked like a challenging total on the day.

WATCH – Hyderabad Crowd Attack The LSG Dugout And The Umpires Stopped The Game

The LSG chase didn’t get off to the best of starts with Kyle Mayers and Quinton de Kock failing to score runs in the powerplay overs. Mayers was dismissed for 2 off 14 balls and the innings was still struggling to get pace. Prerak Mankad looked to fighting a lone battle at that point before Stoinis also got into the act.

The Aussie all-rounder started to go after Abhishek Sharma, who had only conceded 11 runs in his two overs at that point. Stoinis hit the SRH opener for a six in the first ball before the second one was wide.

WATCH – Rahul Tripathi Receives Praise For His Audacious Late Cut

This proved to be costly as Stoinis smashed Abhishek Sharma for another six before the SRH man got his revenge by dismissing him the third ball of the over. This brought Nicholas Pooran to the crease who would hit a hat-trick of sixes to close the over and Abhishek ended up conceding 31 runs.

Here is the video of the over of Abhishek Sharma:


This provided the much-needed impetus to the LSG innings as they ended up winning the match by 7 wickets as Pooran scored 44 off 13 balls and Mankad on 64. Earlier in the season, Dayal had to defend 28 runs in the final over in a match against KKR and Rinku Singh won the match by hitting him for five consecutive sixes.