Adam Zampa Castles Shubman Gill’s Stumps In Thrilling Mohali ODI
By CricShots - Sep 22, 2023 10:17 pm
Views 27

Australia’s leg-spinner, Adam Zampa, made a significant breakthrough in the first ODI against India by uprooting the off-stump of opener Shubman Gill. The match, part of a three-match series, took place at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali, Chandigarh.

Adam Zampa
Adam Zampa cleaned up Shubman Gill

Chasing a target of 277, Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad opened the innings for India. Their partnership got India off to a strong start, which was essential as key players like Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli, and Kuldeep Yadav had been rested for the first two ODIs.

WATCH – Fans Reckon Shreyas Iyer Wasted Another Chance With A Run Out In Mohali

Gill displayed confidence and a positive intent as he played aggressively, attacking the Australian bowlers. Gaikwad, initially cautious, later joined in the assault on the Australian bowling attack. Together, they built a formidable partnership, amassing 142 runs off 130 balls.

However, Adam Zampa changed the game’s dynamics by dismissing Gaikwad for 71 runs on the fourth ball of the 22nd over. Shortly thereafter, Zampa claimed the crucial wicket of Gill, who had scored an impressive 74 runs off 63 balls, including 6 fours and 2 sixes. Gill’s dismissal came on the third ball of the 26th over when Zampa bowled a well-placed delivery that crashed into the off-stump after beating Gill’s attempted cut shot.

WATCH – Mohammed Shami’s Cheeky Reply To Harsha Bhogle During Mid-Innings Break

Australia had earlier set a target of 277 runs for India to chase. While David Warner contributed with a half-century, other Australian batsmen played valuable innings, with several reaching the 30s and 40s. Zampa’s crucial wickets helped Australia make a comeback in the match, providing an opportunity to defend their total successfully.

Here is the video of the dismissal of Shubman Gill:
< blockquote>Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis (wicketkeeper), Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Short, Pat Cummins (captain), Shaun Abbott, Adam Zampa

India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (captain, wicketkeeper) Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami