Afif Hussain Smashes A Beautiful Drive Of Mitchell Starc
By CricShots - Aug 5, 2021 2:53 pm
Views 56

Bangladesh cricket team earned praises for churning out match-winning performances against Australia in the ongoing T20I series. Earlier, the hosts won the first T20I by 23 runs and took the first lead in the five-match T20I series. After losing the first game, a lot was expected of Aussies in the second encounter, but they showed no sign of progression in the batting.

Afif Hossain
Afif Hossain played a brilliant knock

Mitchell Marsh was once again the pick of the bowler, as he top-scored with 45 off 42 balls including 5 fours. Moises Henriques scored 30 off 25 balls including 3 fours and a six. In the end, Australia only managed to reach the score of 121/7 in their quota of 20 overs. Bangladeshi bowlers once again exploited the weak batting line-up of the Aussies. Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets to his name.

Shoriful Islam scalped a couple of wickets while Mehedi Hasan and Shakib Al Hasan took a wicket apiece. Bangladesh chased down the target with the help of Afif Hossain.

ALSO READ: Mohammed Shami Missed An Easy Chance Of Running Out Bairstow

The hosts might have lost 5 wickets in the run-chase but they managed to chase down the meager score with 8 balls to spare. The highlight of the match was when the youngster Afif Hossain played an eye-catching shot off Mitchell Starc’s bowling and it can be termed as the shot of the match.

Watch the video below:


The spectacular shot was witnessed during the run-chase. Earlier, Bangladesh lost the top-order batsmen quite early in the innings. They required support from the middle-order batsmen to get the job done. Among the batsmen, the 21-year-old Afif Hossain was the pick of the batsmen. 

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah Send Back James Anderson With A Toe-crushing Yorker

The southpaw played an unbeaten 37 off 31 deliveries with the help of 5 fours and a six at a strike rate of 119.35. Nurul Hasan also played a decent knock an unbeaten 22 off 21 balls including 3 fours. On the other hand, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, and Andrew Tye took a wicket apiece.