Twitter Reaction
Anrich Nortje Surprised Ruturaj Gaikwad With A Nasty Bouncer, Batter Replies Hard
By CricShots - Jun 14, 2022 8:29 pm
Views 18.7K

India and South Africa locked horns with each other in the third game of the five-match ODI series at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. In the first innings, Anrich Nortje bowled a nasty bouncer to the Indian opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad which struck his helmet grill but still resulted in a boundary.

Anrich Nortje
Anrich Nortje got smashed by Ruturaj Gaikwad

Earlier, after winning the toss, the visiting skipper, Temba Bavuma won the toss and decided to bowl first because of the unpredictability of the conditions. Neither of the teams made any changes in their playing XI. After losing the first two matches of the ongoing T20I series against South Africa, India have started well in the third game.

Ruturaj Gaikwad was struggling in the first few overs but he settled by smacking five fours in an over from Anrich Nortje. However, one remarkable incident took place in the over which surprised everyone.

WATCH – David Warner Leaves The Fans Perplexed With His One-handed Catch

WAAnrich Nortje was bowling the fifth over of the innings and Ruturaj had smashed a couple of boundaries on the first two balls with a square cut and a pull respectively. However, Nortje made a comeback on the third ball as he bowled a brilliant bouncer to surprise the batter. The ball hit Ruturaj’s helmet grill still it went for four runs. The batter then hit two more fours in a row and smacked five in the over.

Here is the video of the fiery bouncer from Anrich Nortje:

India (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

ALSO READ: Ashish Nehra Expects Rishabh Pant To Go With Same Bowling Line-up

South Africa (Playing XI): Temba Bavuma (c), Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje

Here is how the fans reacted to the incident: