Arshdeep Singh’s Fiery Over: Two Wickets Ignite India’s Start In Johannesburg ODI!
By CricShots - Dec 17, 2023 3:30 pm
Views 78

In the opening encounter of the three-match ODI series against South Africa, Arshdeep Singh provided a spectacular start for India at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Facing the Proteas for the first time in a 50-overs format since their exit from CWC 2023, India showcased their prowess with the ball after Aiden Markram chose to bat first in favorable Pink Day ODI conditions.

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh

Arshdeep Singh, in the second over of the innings, delivered a compelling performance, claiming back-to-back wickets. On the fourth delivery, Reeza Hendricks found himself dismissed as he chopped the ball onto his stumps, attempting a shot away from his body, leaving the scoreboard untouched.

ALSO READ: “He will get his opportunity even in the ODI series,” says KL Rahul about Rinku Singh

The following delivery was a masterstroke—a brilliant inswinger to right-hander Rassie van der Dussen. The batsman played around it, leading to an LBW appeal upheld by the on-field umpire. Van der Dussen’s unsuccessful DRS review confirmed his dismissal with the technology revealing his adjacency to the stumps, contributing to the early setbacks for South Africa.

Here is the video of the dismissals:


This impactful start by Arshdeep Singh underscored India’s determination to make a mark in the series, setting the stage for an engaging contest as both teams sought to assert their dominance in the 50-overs format. The early breakthroughs exemplified India’s strategic prowess with the ball and added excitement to the Pink Day ODI at the iconic Wanderers Stadium.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra opens up on India’s squad for ODI series vs South Africa

South Africa (Playing XI): Reeza Hendricks, Tony de Zorzi, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Nandre Burger, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI): KL Rahul (c & wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Shreyas Iyer, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar