Arun Dhumal In The Race To Become IPL Chairman
By CricShots - Oct 11, 2022 7:10 pm
Views 29

According to recent reports, Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) Treasurer Arun Dhumal is expected to become the IPL Chairman. Vice President Rajeev Shukla had his aspirations clear of becoming the next Chairman once former Chairman, Brijesh Patel was set to vacate as he turns 70 in November this year. However, surprisingly Dhumal’s name tipped Shukla for the position while the latter continues to be the vice president.

Arun Dhumal
Arun Dhumal

Arun Dhumal was nominated by the Himachal Cricket Association to represent his state in the upcoming BCCI AGM meeting while another notable nomination was Anirudh Chaudhary who had served as BCCI Treasurer. The vacant position of treasurer after Dhumal’s nomination for Treasurer post is likely to be filled by Ashish Shelar who also shared the urge to become the President on Monday.

ALSO READ: Washington Sundar Cleans Up David Miller With An Outstanding Delivery

After a lot of dilemmas initially staying in the Mumbai Cricket Association, according to Cricbuzz, Shelar has finally landed into the BCCI setup which did come as a surprise.

Roger Binny
Roger Binny

Jayesh George of Kerala is also no longer a part of the BCCI position and Assam Cricket Association’s Devajit Saikia is set to take over as the new joint secretary. The much talked about President position in BCCI is set to take over by former Indian cricketer Roger Binny while Jay Shah continues to be the Secretary despite Sourav Ganguly’s departure.

Roger Binny was part of the 1983 World Cup winning squad and he was serving as the national selector during the time of the 2015 World Cup. Binny has been a big name in the Karnataka Cricket Association for years and he is expected to become the next President hands down.

ALSO READ: Deepti Sharma reaches career best position in ICC Women’s T20I Player Rankings

Here are the new expected post-holders in BCCI:

  • President- Roger Binny
  • Secretary- Jay Shah
  • Vice-president- Rajiv Shukla
  • Treasurer- Ashish Shelar
  • Joint secretary- Devajit Saikia
  • IPL chairman- Arun Dhumal

The nominations for the post of president, secretary, vice-president, joint-secretary, and treasurer are active from October 11 to 12 while they can withdraw from the elections within October 14.