Asia Cup 2018: Full commentators list has been announced
By Sandy - Sep 8, 2018 6:57 pm
Views 134
Share Post

While the 2018 Asia Cup is just one week away to begin, the commentators’ list has been set for the tournament where many former star international cricketers will participate.

Asia Cup trophy 

The 2018 Asia Cup will be played in ODI format in United Arab Emirates (UAE) from September 15 to 28. All the five Test-playing members will participate in this competition with the Qualifier champions Hong Kong. It means the participated teams are: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Hong Kong.

Also read: BCCI officially handed over the 2018 Asia Cup hosting rights to UAE

The arch-rivals India and Pakistan are seeded in the Group A along with Hong Kong while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan will fight in the Group B.

The 2018 Asia Cup will kick-off on September 15 with the match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. India will play their both group matches in consecutive days on September 18 and 19. The 2016 T20 Asia Cup champions India will meet against Pakistan in the Group Stages on September 19.

India vs Pakistan

The final Group Stages match will be played on September 20 between Bangladesh and Afghanistan. At the end of the Group Stages, top two teams from each Group will qualify for the Super Four where each team will play against all other three teams once from September 21 to 26. It means once again each team will play with their one Group Stages team during the Super Four round.

Also read: Team India Will Not Be Travelling To Abu Dabi During Asia Cup 2018

The top two teams in the final points table will advance for the final that will be played on September 20 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium (Dubai).

Just a week ahead of the tournament, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has announced the commentary panel for the tournament. Apart from the top commentators from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh; two Australian commentators Dean Jones and Brett Lee and one English commentator Kevin Pietersen will also take the part in this tournament. The full commentators’ list is at the following:

From India: Sunil Gavaskar, L Sivaramakrishnan and VVS Laxman/Zaheer Khan

From Pakistan: Ramiz Raja and Aamir Sohail,

From Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara and Russel Arnold,

From Bangladesh: Athar Ali Khan

From Australia: Dean Jones and Brett Lee

From England: Kevin Pietersen