Twitter Reaction
Asia Cup 2018: MS Dhoni returns as captain, fans get excited
By Sandy - Sep 25, 2018 5:34 pm
Views 60
Share Post

Prior to the begin of their final Super Four stage game in the ongoing Asia Cup 2018 against Afghanistan at Dubai International Cricket Stadium (Dubai), Indian camp surprised the cricket world as MS Dhoni returns to the international captaincy.

MS Dhoni

The skipper Rohit Sharma and the vice-captain Shikhar Dhawan both have decided to take rest from this game to be fit in the final match of the tournament that will be played on this Friday (September 25). In the result, MS Dhoni returns to the international captaincy role after 696 days. Returning to this role at the age of 37 years and 80 days, Dhoni becomes India’s oldest ODI captain as the previous record holder was Mohammad Azharuddin who had led the Indian cricket team last time in ODI cricket at the age of 36 years and 124 days.

It is Dhoni’s 200th ODI as captain. With this achievement, Dhoni becomes the third cricketer and first Indian cricketer to lead in 200 or more ODI matches. In his 199 ODI captaincy, India won in 110 ODIs, lost in 74 ODIs, tied in four ODIs and getting no result in 11 ODIs.

Last time, Dhoni led the Indian side in the ODI cricket against New Zealand at Vishakhapatnam on 29 October 2016. He stepped down from the limited-overs captaincy role in January 2017, prior to the home ODI series against England.

MS Dhoni

Under his captaincy, India won the 2007 ICC World T20, 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup and 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. Dhoni is the only captain in history who won three different ICC trophies.

Coming to the Afghanistan game, India has made a total of five changes in the playing XI. While the pacer Deepak Chahar is making his ODI debut, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Khaleel Ahmed and Siddarth Kaul return to the playing XI and the skipper Rohit Sharma, vice-captain Shikhar Dhawan, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Yuzvendra Chahal have been rested in this game.

Playing XI

Afghanistan XI: Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan (capt), Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Aftab Alam

India XI: KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Siddarth Kaul, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed

Here are some Twitter reactions: