Australia Includes A Huge Surprise In Their T20 World Cup Squad
By CricShots - Aug 19, 2021 10:02 am
Views 544

Australia has named a star-studded squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, as captain Aaron Finch, David Warner, and Steve Smith among the big names coming back to the squad. Uncapped wicketkeeper Josh Inglis has been the most surprising inclusion in Australia’s 15-man squad for the Twenty20 World Cup.

josh Inglis
Australia surprisingly includes Josh Inglis in the T20 World Cup squad

Earlier, there were rumors making rounds that Australia might drop some of their top players from the October-November World Cup ahead of a big summer highlighted by an Ashes series against England. The Aussies have endured a rough patch in the hsotest format of the game recently, having lost each of their past five series.

ALSO READ: ICC Announces The Final Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2021

However, in the three most recent of those they have been unable to field a full-strength XI and now they will be expecting some change in their fortunes with the return of Warner and company.


Talking about the same, chairman of selectors in Australia, George Bailey said, “We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world.”

ALSO READ: Darren Sammy Feels India Will Be The Team To Beat In T20 World Cup

He further elaborated, “Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white-ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts. He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability, and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Australia T20 World Cup Squad: Aaron Finch (C), Pat Cummins (VC), Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Travelling reserves: Dan Christian, Daniel Sams, Nathan EllisLive TV