Australian Receives Fine Because of Slow Over-rate
By CricShots - Nov 24, 2018 11:55 am
Views 66

Australia has received a fine for a slow over-rate in the first T20I against India in Brisbane. Jeff Crowe of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees took the decision of imposing the fine after Aaron Finch and his men were found one over short of its target when time allowances were taken into consideration.

Australian won the opening T20I in Brisbane

Australia won the opening T20I by four runs on Wednesday while the second match of the series which was played on Friday was called off due to rain which came after the first innings.

Describing the scenario further, ICC statement said, “In accordance with Article 2.5.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Players Support Personnel, which relates to minor over-rate offenses, players are fined 10 percent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time, with the captain fined double that amount.”

ALSO READ: Australia Announces Replacement For Injured Billy Stanlake

Finch has received a fine of 20 percent of his match fee, while the players have received 10 percent fines. If Australia commits another minor over-rate breach in a T20I within 12 months of this offense with Finch as captain, it will be deemed a second offense by the skipper and he will be suspended.

Talking about the same, ICC’s statement further said, “Finch pleaded guilty to the offense after the end of the match and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing.”

India started as favorites in the Brisbane T20I

The charges were leveled by on-field umpires Simon Fry and Paul Wilson, third umpire Gerard Abood, and fourth umpire Shawn Craig.

Australia is having an unassailable 1-0 lead in the three-match series and the final game will be played in Sydney on Sunday. The T20I series will be followed by a four-match Test series starting on December 6. Before which, Team India will play a four-day practice match against Cricket Australia XI which will commence on November 28.