Australia Reveals Extended Squad for ICC World Cup 2023: Labuschagne Misses Out
By CricShots - Aug 7, 2023 2:53 pm
Views 53

Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne’s hopes for the ICC World Cup 2023 have suffered a blow, as he was left out of the country’s extended 18-member squad for the tournament starting on October 5 in India. Cricket Australia’s official release announced the inclusion of uncapped players leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha and all-rounder Aaron Hardie, with the squad set to be trimmed to 15 later.


Labuschagne, who debuted in early 2020, has played 30 out of Australia’s 38 matches since then and was part of the team’s victory in a series in India earlier this year. Under ICC regulations, squads must be finalized by September 28, with Australia’s opening World Cup match against India in Chennai on October 8.

ALSO READ: Tilak Varma’s Milestone Fifty Celebration Pays Tribute To Mentor Rohit Sharma’s Daughter

Australia’s selection chair George Bailey stated, “We view a period of enforced rest for Pat as a positive ahead of this important World Cup campaign.” Pat Cummins, the team’s captain, has been nursing a wrist injury sustained during the recent Ashes series, which will keep him out of the T20 series against South Africa before the ODIs. Cummins last played an ODI match in November 2022 and has captained Australia in the format only twice.


Mitchell Marsh will lead the team during Cummins’ absence in the T20 series against South Africa. While all-rounder Glenn Maxwell will miss the ODIs in South Africa due to the impending arrival of his first child, he is expected to join the team in India for a three-match ODI series in September.

Australia, five-time champions, are set to begin their World Cup journey with a clash against hosts India on October 8 in Chennai. The selection chair expressed confidence in the squad’s balance and its potential to secure a sixth World Cup title, citing the team’s skill and experience.

ALSO READ: Kyle Mayers Applauds Virat Kohli’s Aggression After Infamous IPL Spat

Australia ODI squad: Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.