Australia T20 Squad Announced For SA and India Series
By CricShots - Nov 8, 2018 10:07 am
Views 13
Share Post

Australia is expected to play a blockbuster Test series against India which is scheduled to be commencing in the next month, however, before that they will be playing four Twenty20s this month against South Africa and India. In order to give rest for the grueling Test series, the premier fast bowler Mitchell Starc has been rested for the T20I series.

Mitchell Starc

The Australian team will play its first T20I of the summer on November 17 against South Africa, before three T20I games against India. They will be missing out the services of their four first-choice Test attack, as well as Peter Siddle and Mitchell Marsh.

Describing the decision, Australian coach, Justin Langer said, “We know coming off the back of the tour to the UAE, a huge summer at home, and the World Cup and Ashes just around the corner that we have to get the balance right between playing our best T20 team and preparing for the upcoming Test series. While I know all four have a desire to be playing cricket for Australia in every format, with a really tough Test series against India coming up, we believe their best preparation is to go back and get some really good cricket under their belts in the Sheffield Shield.”

ALSO READ: Azharuddin Predicts India’s Chances In Australia

Both Marcus Stoinis and Jason Behrendorff have been called up as replacement of Mitchell Marsh and Nathan Lyon. Ben McDermott, who features in Australia’s 13-man T20 squad, will lead the Cricket Australia XI against South Africa in a warm-up match in Brisbane on November 14.

Mitchell Marsh

Australia T20I Squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa

CA XI Squad:

Ben McDermott (c), Fawad Ahmed, Jason Behrendorff, Max Bryant, Ben Cutting, Chris Green, Matthew Kuhnemann, Lachlan Pfeffer, Alex Ross, Gurinder Sandhu, Kelvin Smith, Andrew Tye