Australia cricketer Marcus Labuschagne has achieved a unique feat by becoming the first cricketer to be penalized according to cricket’s new law against “fake fielding” during a match against Cricket Australia XI. He plays for Queensland in Australia’s domestic cricket.
During CA XI’s innings, Batsman Param Uppal drove the ball in that direction and Labuschagne, who was standing at the mid-off position, he dived to stop the ball but it had already passed him. However, the field trie to fake to throw the ball back to the bowler which prompted Uppal to turn around mid-way from the run. He later realized that the ball was past the fielder and completed his run.
According to MCC’s new Law 41.5, “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”. The umpires have the discretion to award five penalty runs if they determine that such deception is willful.”
Cricket Australia XI was awarded five penalty runs for this incident. Despite that fact that the new rules come into effect from October 1, it appears that this match was also played under the new ones.
Here is the video of the incident: