Axar Patel to lead Gujarat in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
By Aditya Pratap - Jan 5, 2018 5:17 pm
Views 0
Share Post

Indian all-rounder Axar Patel has been named the skipper of Gujarat for domestic T20 competition Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. This news came a day after his retention by Kings XI Punjab for the next season of Indian Premier League.

Indian leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and Priyank Panchal have also been included into the squad, while young Siddhartha Desai missed to make a place in the team. This tournament will give a chance to the young players to prove their worth in T20 cricket before the big IPL auction on January 27-28 in Bengaluru.

Meanwhile, Axar won’t participate in the whole tournament as he has to play with Indian Team in South Africa for limited-over cricket leg. On the other hand, veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel is missing from the squad as he is with Indian team for Test series in rainbow nation.

Squad: Axar Patel (C), Priyank Panchal, Rohit Dahiya, Rujul Bhatt, Ishwar Chaudhary, Piyush Chawla, Chintan Gaja, Chirag Gandhi, Bhargav Merai, Chirag Parmar, Dhruv Raval, Santosh, Shinde, Kshitij Patel, Jayveer Parmar, Karan Patel.