T20 World Cup 2024
Axar Patel’s Hilarious Dismissal Of Tristan Stubbs Sparks Laughter
By CricShots - Jun 29, 2024 11:24 pm
Views 23

Axar Patel has been a standout performer for India in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024 final against South Africa, contributing significantly with both bat and ball. Batting first, India managed to put up a total of 176 runs, thanks in part to a crucial fifty from Virat Kohli. Axar Patel also played a vital role, scoring an impressive 47 runs off 31 balls, including one four and four sixes.

Axar Patel
Axar Patel cleaned up Tristan Stubbs

During South Africa’s chase, Patel proved his worth once again. South Africa lost two early wickets but began to recover as Quinton de Kock and Tristan Stubbs built a crucial 58-run partnership. It was then that Patel delivered a key breakthrough, dismissing Stubbs at a critical juncture.

WATCH – Virat Kohli’s Vital Fifty Sparks Mixed Reactions in T20 World Cup 2024 Final

In the 9th over, on the fifth ball, Stubbs attempted to shuffle across the wicket and play Patel down the leg side but missed the delivery completely. The ball went on to hit the stumps, clean-bowling Stubbs and turning the tide in India’s favor. Quinton de Kock could only look away in disbelief as his partner walked back to the pavilion.


At the time of writing, South Africa were struggling at 161 for 6 after 19 overs. Axar Patel, who initially came into the tournament as a backup for Ravindra Jadeja, has not only filled the role but arguably outperformed the seasoned all-rounder. His all-around performance in the final has been crucial for India’s push towards lifting the trophy.

WATCH – Jasprit Bumrah’s Peach Of A Delivery Bowls Reeza Hendricks

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah