Bangladesh Concedes 5 Penalty Runs To India After A Fielding Error
By CricShots - Dec 15, 2022 12:54 pm
Views 120

Team India resumed their innings on Day 2 of the first Test match against Bangladesh, from an overnight score of 278/6 in 90 overs. They suffered the dismissal of Shreyas Iyer, who perished after scoring 86 runs and India was reeling at 293/7. But Ravichandran Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav made a brilliant partnership of a good partnership to take the score past 350 without losing another wicket. 

India receives penalty runs

During the partnership, Ashwin brought up his 13th half-century in Test matches. As India’s innings got underway, what caught the attention of fans was the Indian team received five penalty runs for Bangladesh’s mistake on the field. In the 112th over of the innings which was being bowled by Taijul Islam, R Ashwin got an edge off the second delivery and the ball went past the first slip to the third-man region.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Sweats In Nets To Counter Left-arm Spin

In the throw that followed, the ball hit the helmet placed behind the wicketkeeper and the Indian team received five penalty runs. A video of the moment in the match got viral on social media and can be watched here.

The ongoing two-match Test series against hosts Bangladesh is critical for India in its bid to qualify for the World Test Championship (WTC) final. India is currently placed at the fourth position, with 52.08 PCT (%) in the table for ICC WTC 2021 – 2023. Australia and South Africa are currently placed at the first and second positions respectively in the points table.

ALSO READ: Kane Williamson To Step Down As New Zealand’s Test Captain

The Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma is not playing the opening Test match as he is down with a finger injury sustained during the second ODI between India and Bangladesh. KL Rahul is the stand-in skipper as suspense prevails over Rohit’s participation in the second Test too.