Bangladesh finalizes ODI Squad For The Series Against India
By CricShots - Nov 25, 2022 12:21 pm
Views 15

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has finalized a 16-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against India. Star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who led the T20I side at the World Cup recently, has made a comeback to the squad after missing Bangladesh’s last limited-overs tour to Zimbabwe in July-August this year.

Shakib Al Hasan
Bangladesh team 

However, the management decided to drop the middle-order batter Mosaddek Hossain alongside young fast bowler, Shoriful Islam. Both teams are scheduled to play a three-match ODI series, two at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur and one at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram, scheduled to commence on December 4.

WATCH – Tom Latham Gives A Lifeline To Shreyas Iyer As He Mistimes His Jump

Mosaddek had only amassed 38 runs from five innings in the recent T20 World Cup 2022 and took only two wickets from three innings. Shoriful featured in just one game in the World Cup where he concluded 57 runs without a wicket against India. The youngster took 19 wickets from 14 ODI innings but his recent inconsistent performances have cost him a place in the squad.

Ebadot Hossain
Ebadot Hossain

Ebadot Hossain has found a place in the squad after making his ODI debut in the third match against Zimbabwe earlier this year. Taijul Islam’s name was also expected in the squad came as a surprise, despite him taking 20 wickets from 12 ODI matches. He took three wickets from a couple of innings at an impressive economy rate of 4.31 against Zimbabwe in the last ODI series but Shakib’s return cost him a place in the upcoming series.

WATCH – Glenn Phillips Takes An Exceptional Catch As Sanju Samson Mistimes The Ball

The upcoming ODI series is not a part of the ICC World Cup Super League so the management is likely to explore other combinations. Taijul has taken 158 wickets from just 38 Tests and the management will be looking to keep him fresh for the two-match Test series against India and which will commence on December 14.

Bangladesh ODI Squad: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmud Ullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan