Sanju Samson Likely To Miss The ODI Series In Sri Lanka?
By CricShots - Jul 18, 2021 6:44 pm
Views 13.1K
Share Post

The Indian wicket-keeper batsman, Sanju Samson had suffered a sprain on the ligament on his knee and he was not available for selection for their first One-Day International of the three-match series against Sri Lanka at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Left-handed keeper-batsman Ishan Kishan made his ODI debut, as did Suryakumar Yadav. Interestingly, both of them made their T20I debuts together as well, in the home series against England this year.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson missed his ODI debut due to an injury

Despite the fact that there is no information regarding the extent of the injury of Sanju Samson, there is a possibility that he can miss the whole series. Informing the same, BCCI wrote: β€œSanju Samson sprained a ligament in his knee and was hence not available for selection for this game. The medical team is tracking his progress at the moment.”

ALSO READ: Yuzvendra Chahal Dismissed Fernando On The First Ball Of His Spell

Here is the post shared by the BCCI of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan receiving their respective ODI caps:

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first citing very slim chances of dew later in the evening. Shikhar Dhawan, who will be leading India for the first time, said India was looking to bat too. During the toss, Dhawan said,Β β€œWe were also looking to bat first as dew factor will come into play. Shaw will open along with me. Kishan and Suryakumar will make their debuts. Kuldeep and Chahal are the two spinners playing for us.”

ALSO READ: Shikhar Dhawan Reveals The Goal From The Series Against Sri Lanka

Incidentally, today is Ishan Kishan’s birthday as well. The Jharkhand and Mumbai Indians player turns 23.Β 

India XI: Shikhar Dhawan(capt), Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan(wk), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav

Sri Lanka XI: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(wk), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan