BCCI Confirms Prithvi Shaw And Suryakumar Yadav’s Inclusion To The Test Squad
By CricShots - Jul 26, 2021 4:31 pm
Views 43

According to the recent reports of the Times of India, BCCI has officially added opener Prithvi Shaw and middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav to the Test squad for the upcoming five-match series against England starting August 4 as replacements to injured players Shubman Gill and Washington Sundar. Bengal opener Abhimanyu Easwaran, who was on standby has been added to the main squad with standby pacer Avesh Khan also going back home with a fractured left thumb.

Prithvi Shaw 

In a media release regarding the same, BCCI secretary, Jay Shah said, “The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Prithvi Shaw and Suryakumar Yadav as replacements. All-rounder Washington Sundar had taken an injection on his right-hand bowling finger. However, his recovery will take longer than expected and he is not bowling-fit. He is ruled out of the remainder of the tour.”

ALSO READ: Dinesh Karthik Almost Smashed Kevin Pietersen’s Head With A Ball

Describing the injuries of Both Avesh Khan and Washington Sundar, BCCI informed, “Fast bowler Avesh Khan suffered a blow to his left thumb on Day 1 of the warm-up game. He was taken for an X-Ray and the result confirmed a fracture. A specialist was consulted for further management of his injury. He is ruled out of India’s Tour of England.”

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav is batting at a brisk pace

Surya has been scoring runs quite consistently in recent times as he won the player of the series award in the recently concluded ODI series against Sri Lanka, which the visitors won 2-1 in Colombo. In first-class cricket, SKY has scored more than 5000 runs at an average of 44 with 14 centuries for Mumbai and West Zone.

A senior BCCI official had earlier said that both players (Surya and Shaw) would have a bubble to bubble transfer from Colombo to London.

ALSO READ: Yuzvendra Chahal believes if he performs, he gets to play

India squad: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav

Standby players: Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla