BCCI Naman Awards 2023 Winners: Shubman Gill, R Ashwin, and Deepti Sharma Shine In Glittering Ceremony
By CricShots - Jan 24, 2024 12:06 pm
Views 17

After a hiatus of four years, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has resurrected the prestigious Naman Awards, recognizing outstanding cricketing talent across the nation. The much-anticipated event marked BCCI’s acknowledgement and reward for cricketers who have made remarkable contributions to the sport over the past four years, ensuring their accomplishments are duly honoured.

BCCI awards
BCCI awards 2024

The Polly Umrigar Trophy, a symbol of cricketing excellence, was awarded to four outstanding Indian cricketers during the ceremony. Mohammed Shami received the trophy for the 2019-20 season, followed by R Ashwin for 2020-21, Jasprit Bumrah for 2021-22, and Shubman Gill for the 2022-23 season, showcasing his meteoric rise in international cricket.

In the women’s category, Deepti Sharma and Smriti Mandhana were celebrated as the Best Women’s Cricketers. Sharma earned the title for the 2019-20 and 2022-23 seasons, while Mandhana, the women’s team vice-captain, was honoured for her stellar contributions during the 2020-21 and 2021-22 seasons, highlighting the dynamic talent in women’s cricket.

ALSO READ: Visa Delay Sidelines Shoaib Bashir, Ben Stokes Voices Frustration Ahead of India Tests

The ceremony also paid tribute to cricketing legends of the past, with Ravi Shastri and Farokh Engineer receiving the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. This recognition serves as a testament to their enduring legacy and significant contributions to Indian cricket.


Recognizing promising newcomers, the BCCI awarded the Best International Debut for men across four seasons. Mayank Agarwal, Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer, and Yashasvi Jaiswal were acknowledged for their promising starts in international cricket during the four years.

In addition to the major awards, various players were recognized for their outstanding performances in domestic cricket across different age groups. The Dilip Sardesai Awards for the 2022-23 season highlighted R Ashwin for the Highest Wickets (India vs West Indies) and Yashasvi Jaiswal for the Highest Runs (India vs West Indies).


The BCCI also honoured umpires, with Rohan Pandit receiving the title of Best Umpire in Domestic Cricket for the 2022-23 season. The Lala Amarnath Award for the Best All-rounder in Domestic Limited-overs competitions saw Riyan Parag of Assam clinching the title for the 2022-23 season. Saransh Jain of Madhya Pradesh was recognized as the Best All-rounder in the Ranji Trophy for the 2022-23 season.

ALSO READ: Mohammad Amir Highlights Arshdeep Singh’s Potential To Fill India’s Left-Arm Pacer Void

Other notable awards included the Madhavrao Scindia Award for the Highest Wicket-Taker and Highest Run-Scorer in Ranji Trophy, MA Chidambaram Trophy for the Highest Wicket-Taker and Highest Run-Scorer in U19 Cooch Behar Trophy, and Jagmohan Dalmiya Trophy for the Best Woman Cricketer in Junior and Senior categories. These awards collectively celebrated the diverse talent, dedication, and achievements across various levels of Indian cricket, showcasing the sport’s vibrancy and depth.