BCCI to Announce India Squads For South Africa Tour; Rohit Sharma’s Captaincy In Doubt
By CricShots - Nov 30, 2023 11:17 am
Views 60

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is set to unveil India’s squads for the upcoming multi-format South Africa tour on Thursday, November 30. Reports suggest that the BCCI is making a concerted effort to persuade Rohit Sharma to lead the team in the three T20Is scheduled to be played in the Rainbow Nation.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Notably, Rohit has been absent from the T20I arena since India’s disappointing semi-final exit against England in the 2022 T20 World Cup. Earlier reports indicated that Rohit would not be available for the white-ball leg of the South Africa tour. India is slated to play three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Tests in South Africa.

Hardik Pandya, who has typically captained the T20I side in Rohit’s absence, is currently recovering from an ankle injury sustained during the recently concluded ODI World Cup 2023. The Baroda all-rounder is unlikely to be fit in time for the series against the Proteas.

ALSO READ: “Rohit Sharma is an outstanding person” – R Ashwin praises Rohit’s leadership in the World Cup 2023

Suryakumar Yadav, who is currently leading the ‘Men in Blue’ in the ongoing five-match T20I series against Australia, was initially considered as the frontrunner to lead the T20Is against South Africa. However, this scenario could change if the BCCI succeeds in convincing Rohit to make a comeback in the shortest format of the game.


Meanwhile, reports have emerged that former India captain Virat Kohli, who displayed exceptional form during the ODI World Cup 2023, has informed the BCCI of his decision to take a break from the white-ball leg of the South Africa tour. However, the Delhi batter is expected to return for the Test series.

ALSO READ: “It’s not going to quite sink in” – Shubman Gill on being appointed GT captain ahead of IPL 2024

The highly anticipated tour commences with the first T20I in Durban on Sunday, December 10. The second and third T20Is will be played in Gqeberha (December 12) and Johannesburg (December 14), respectively.