BCCI Treasurer Revenue Generated By The Board In The IPL 2020
By CricShots - Nov 23, 2020 3:59 pm
Views 54

There is no denying the fact that the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 was one of the biggest success stories of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) as they carried out the tournament amid the coronavirus-induced pandemic. After the cash-rich event, originally scheduled to begin on March 29, was indefinitely postponed by the BCCI, it finally commenced on September 19 in the UAE, behind closed doors.

mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians won the IPL 2020

According to the BCCI treasurer Arun Dhumal, the board has earned ₹4,000 crores as revenue from hosting the 13th edition of the cash-rich league. In addition, the TV viewership made a 25 percent rise when compared to IPL 2019. The T20 league, spanning 60 matches spanning 53 days involved around 30,000 COVID-19 tests for 1,800 individuals involved in the mega tournament.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah Lauds Zlatan Ibrahimovic As Milan Defeats Napoli

As per the quotes in the Indian Express, Dhumal said, “The Board managed to cut nearly 35 percent of the cost as compared to the last IPL. We earned Rs 4,000 crore during the pandemic time. Our TV viewership went about 25 percent higher, we got the highest-ever opening game (Mumbai Indians versus Chennai Super Kings) viewership.”

IPL 2020 trophy

He further added, “Those who doubted us came and thanked us for hosting the IPL. Had this IPL not happened, cricketers would have lost one year. In case we had any Covid cases, the board had blocked 200 rooms separately so that patients can be quarantined and only join once they have fully recovered.”

ALSO READ: David Warner Vouches To Control His Temper During the Indian Series

The 13th edition of the marquee T20 league ended on November 10 with Mumbai Indians (MI) emerging as the winners of the IPL title for the 5th time in history. The only team which has won the IPL titles neared to MI is none other than the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) as they have lifted the coveted trophy three times in the history of the tournament.