Birthday Blast: Sreenth Aravind Celebrates His 34th
By CricShots - Apr 7, 2018 1:04 pm
Views 136

Karnataka left-arm fast bowler Sreenath Aravind has turned 34 on Sunday. He has played only one international game for India in 2015 when he debuted in the Twenty20 International match against South Africa.

Sreenath Aravind

However, his international debut was a forgettable one as he was smashed all over the park by his Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) teammate, AB de Villiers, with whom he plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Because of the same reason, his debut match became his last as well.

Also read: X-Factors for Royal Challengers Bangalore

Just a couple of months ago Aravind announced his retirement from first-class cricket after his state team won the Vijay Hazare Trophy in New Delhi. In his domestic career of 10 years, he played 56 first-class games taking 186 wickets including two five-fers. Often on slow pitch conditions, he would bowl his slow left-arm spinners as well. He also had 103 T20 wickets from 84 games.

Sreenath Aravind

Aravind debut in the IPL in 2011 for RCB and since then he has been one of the crucial bowlers for the team. In IPL he has played 38 matches and managed to scalp 45 wickets for RCB. He also maintained an economy of just above 8 in IPL. RCB skipper Virat Kohli has always been gone to Sreenath in crunch situations and more often than not he had managed to pick wickets. However, in the IPL players’ auction 2018 he couldn’t manage to find any buyer despite having a base price of just ₹50 lakhs.

Also read: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore – Run Machine Under Breakdown

In domestic cricket, Aravind has been a part of a highly successful Karnataka team, which has been a dominant force in the domestic circuit for some time now. Along with R Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun, he formed one of the most lethal seam bowling combinations in Ranji Trophy. During this phase, Karnataka won all the domestic tournaments including Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship.