IPL 2024
Brett Lee and Tillakaratne Dilshan back ‘consistent’ KKR winning IPL 2024
By SMCS - May 25, 2024 8:00 am
Views 25

Former Australia pace bowler Brett Lee feels that KKR are the favourites to win the Indian Premier League 2024 on their present form. Notably, KKR finished at the top of the points table after the league stage for the first time in their history in the competition as well. They further beat the formidable SRH by eight wickets in Qualifier 1 to reach the finals as well.

Mitchell Starc
Mitchell Starc drew the first blood

Speaking about Kolkata’s chances in the ongoing season, Lee said to ANI, “I picked RCB right from the top and I was disappointed when they got knocked out last night. But if you look on paper and in its current form, it will be tough to beat KKR. I think they’re probably the team that deserves to finish at the number one position. They’re straight through the finals on Sunday, so they’ll be pretty hard to beat.”

Meanwhile, former Sri Lanka cricketer Tillakaratne Dilshan also backed Lee’s statement and said that KKR have been consistent throughout the season and they have a chance to win.

Varun Chakravarthy
Varun Chakravarthy dismissed Rishabh Pant

“I think, according to me, consistently performing KKR doing well throughout the tournament. RR played very good, they played very good cricket. But when you are going halfway through, a little bit they are up and down. But KKR doing consistently, they are performing in all three departments, bowling, batting and failing. Hopefully, my view, I think, is KKR going to win this IPL,” Dilshan said.

Notably, all of KKR’s players are in good form before the all-important final with all-rounder Sunil Narine smashing with the bat at the top of the order scoring 482 runs from 13 innings. Apart from him, captain Shreyas Iyer (345 runs), Venkatesh Iyer (318 runs) and Andre Russell (222 runs) are also in good form. With the ball, Varun Chakravarthy (20 wickets), Harshit Rana (17 wickets), Narine (16 wickets), Russell (16 wickets), Mitchell Starc (15 wickets) and Vaibhav Arora (10 wickets) have done a great job so far as well.