By B Dixit - Sep 24, 2017 3:02 pm
Views 0

Exactly a decade ago, India emerged as the World Champions of the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in 2007 at Durban. An India-Pakistan encounter in the final of a world event was nothing less than a match made in the heaven.

Having won the toss, MS Dhoni, the then Indian captain, chose to bat. India lost Yusuf Pathan (15) and Robin Uthappa (8) in the powerplay, but, Gautam Gambhir was looking set to get a big one. Indian hopes were hit hard when Yuvraj Singh (14) was caught and bowled by Umar Gul.

Gambhir (75) was the highest run-scorer for India in the finals. India ended up scoring 157-5 in 20 overs. With bowling figures of 4-0-28-3, Umar Gul was the pick of the Pakistani bowlers.

Pakistan lost Mohammad Hafeez (1) and Kamran Akmal (0) in the first and the third over respectively. It seemed that Imran Nazir (33) would turn the tide on the arch rivals, but, a run-out got the better of him.

Pakistan kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. Even Misbah-ul-Haq’s excellence couldn’t prevent an Indian win. Irfan Pathan, who registered figures of 4-0-18-3, was declared the Man-of-the-Match. Watch the full highlights of the match: