Chris Gayle Joins Gujarat Giants or The Upcoming Legends League Cricket
By CricShots - Sep 5, 2022 11:03 am
Views 70

Gujarat Giants have managed to rope in the West Indies’ star batter, Chris Gayle ahead of the upcoming season of the Legends League Cricket. Gayle will be playing under the captaincy of Virender Sehwag in the league that will be commencing on September 16 in Kolkata. Adani Sportsline-owned Gujarat Giants had signed 15 cricketers in a virtual draft on Friday and had spent INR 5,51,80,000 out of the total of INR 8 Cr. They expressed a desire to sign the Universe Boss with their remaining purse value of 2,48,20,000.

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle

Sharing the same Raman Raheja, LLC CEO and co-founder said, “After Friday’s draft, Gujarat Giants had clearly expressed their desire to sign Chris Gayle with the remaining purse value from their individual INR 8 Cr franchise purse. We facilitated the discussion and are glad that Gayle will be seen playing for the Adani Sportsline team.”

Gujarat Giants had earlier signed players like Virender Sehwag, Graeme Swann, Daniel Vettori, Kevin O’Brien, etc for the 2022 season. Gayle will accompany fellow West Indies cricketer Lendl Simmons.

Pranav Adani, Managing Director (Agro and Oil & Gas), Adani group reacted to Gayle being picked by Gujarat Giants.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli & Anushka Sharma buy a new House in Mumbai

He tweeted, “Imagine Virender Sehwag and Chris Gayle on the same side, challenging the opposition bowlers together! That’s the joy of Legends Cricket! AdaniSportsline is fortunate to have Sehwag and Gayle, two of only four batsmen in test history to have scored two triple centuries.”

The Legends League Cricket 2022 includes four teams- India Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Bhilwara Kings, and Manipal Tigers. The tournament is slated to begin on September 16 at Eden Gardens. The final is scheduled to be held on October 8.

ALSO READ: CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan Reveals MS Dhoni Will Lead CSK In IPL 2023

Here are the full squads for the league:

Gujarat Giants – Virender Sehwag (C), Chris Gayle, Parthiv Patel, Ajantha Mendis, Manvinder Bisla, Lendl Simmons, Mitchell McClenaghan, Stuart Binny, Kevin O’Brien, Daniel Vettori, Ashoke Dinda, Joginder Sharma, Graeme Swann, Richard Levi, Chris Tremlett, Elton Chigumbura.

Bhilwara Kings – Irfan Pathan (C), Yusuf Pathan, Monty Panesar, Naman Ojha, William Porterfield, Samit Patel, Fidel Edwards, Matt Prior, Nick Compton, Sreesanth, Tim Bresnan, Owais Shah, Tino Best, Sudeep Tyagi.

India Capitals – Gautam Gambhir (C), Ravi Bopara, Pravin Tambe, Denesh Ramdin, Ashgar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Liam Plunkett, Rajat Bhatia, Hamilton Masakazda, Mashrafe Mortaza, John Mooney, Prosper Utseya, Ross Taylor, Jacques Kallis, Farveez Maharoof, Pankaj Singh.

Manipal Tigers – Harbhajan Singh (C), Brett Lee, Muttiah Muralitharan, Phil Mustard, Md. Kaif, Ryan Sidebottom, Lance Klusener, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Romesh Kaluwithrana, Reetinder Sodhi, Parvinder Awana, VRV Singh.