Cricket Australia Restricts Australians From Featuring In Advertisements In IPL
By CricShots - Feb 23, 2021 3:07 pm
Views 30

Cricket Australia (CA) barring its players from featuring in advertisements promoting betting, fast food, alcohol, and tobacco brands during the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The upcoming edition of the cash-rich league is scheduled to start in the second week of April and quite a few Australian cricketers, including big buys Glenn Maxwell and Jhye Richardson, will be taking part in the T20 tournament. 

cricket australia
Glenn Maxwell 

According to, all the IPL franchises have been recently advised that the BCCI quoted Cricket Australia (CA) as saying, “A full team photo — for use only by the sponsors of the relevant IPL team in print media in India and any such photo should not involve or include the name or branding of a company primarily engaged in the business of alcohol, fast food/fast-food restaurants, tobacco or betting.”

ALSO READ: Reasons Behind UK Betting Companies Eyeing At The Indian Market

Among other restrictions, CA said not more than one cricketer from a Big Bash League (BBL) team and a state team should be used in advertising campaigns.

The BCCI mail said, “Cricket Australia has imposed the following restrictions on Franchisees’ use of Australian players in advertising and/or promotional materials: In any specific advertising or promotional activity featuring any Australian player (in any medium including TV, radio, press, outdoor, internet, point of sales or on-pack advertising)…”

Jhye Richardson

It also explained, “… Each Franchisee may only use: (a) no more than 1 Player who has a Central Contract with Cricket Australia; and/or; (b) no more than 1 Australian Player from the same Australian State; and (c) no more than 1 Australian Player from the same Big Bash team…”

ALSO READ: MCC Open To Make Changes In The Umpire Call System Of DRS

As many as 19 Australians will be playing in the IPL 2021 — Steven Smith, Maxwell, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Richardson, Riley Meredith, Ben Cutting, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins, Chris Lynn, Adam Zampa, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Josh Philippe, Andrew Tye, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh — are set to play in IPL 2021.