CT 2017: Look at the previous Champions Trophy winners
By CricShots - May 19, 2017 2:28 pm
Views 297

In 2013, R Ashwin bowled the final ball to England’s James Tredwell, who failed to strike the ball and MS Dhoni went to cloud 9 behind the stumps. In an inevitable 20-over game which was a result of the all too familiar English rains, India outplayed the hosts at Edgbaston by 5 runs and win the coveted Champions Trophy. A young Indian side wore the white blazers to take the podium on the night of the final.

Indian skipper MS Dhoni had finally acquired the only ICC trophy which was missing in his collection of ICC Trophies. As Dhoni lifted the Champions Trophy, India was crowned the undisputed Champions in the cricketing world. Lifting the World Cup has its own pleasures, but somewhere, the Champions Trophy gives a proud feeling.

This tournament determines the winning team as the champion amongst champions, having outplayed the best teams in the world. With the Champions Trophy 2017 round the corner, it calls for a walk through memory as we take a look at the previous editions of the mega-event. Here’s the look at the Champions since its inception.

1. South Africa – 1998


In 1998, the champions trophy was termed as the Knock-Out Trophy. Surprisingly, it was South Africa win it in the first edition. Their win in the 1998 event has remained the team’s only success in an ICC multi-team ODI event.

The final was played between West Indies and Proteas, the latter chased down the target of 246 runs with four wickets in hand. Jacques Kallis, arguably the South Africa’s finest all-rounder, was contributory in their triumph. Kallis scored 164 runs in the tournament, which included a hundred against Sri Lanka in the semi-final. He was also the leading wicket-taker, as he took 8 wickets, including a five-wicket haul in the all-important final. For his all-round performance in the tournament, Kallis has named as the Player of the Tournament.

Page 1 of 3 Next