On This Day
Day When MS Dhoni Completed His Captaincy Record In CT 2013
By CricShots - Jun 23, 2021 12:10 pm
Views 254

Like any other sport, all the cricketing events have come to a halt due to the coronavirus pandemic and there is no update regarding the next series of the Indian cricket team. However, exactly 8 years ago on this day, India defeated hosts England to clinch their second ICC Champions Trophy title at Edgbaston. With that thrilling win, India also became the second team after Australia to win the ICC Champions Trophy more than once. 

Virat Kohli saved the day for India

With this triumph, MS Dhoni became the first captain in history to win all 3 major ICC trophies – World Cup in 2011, World T20 in 2007 and 2013 Champions Trophy. Due to the rainstorm earlier in the day, the final was reduced to a T20 affair, India only managed to reach a total of 129 for 7 and then restricted England to 124 for eight in a topsy-turvy game that went down to the wire. Current Indian skipper, Virat Kohli played a crucial known of 43 in just 34 balls.

ALSO READ: Pakistan Cricketers Test Positive Of Coronavirus Ahead of England Tour

After being put in to bat, Indian batsmen found wanting on a sluggish wicket. The team was rescued by a 47-run sixth-wicket stand between Virat Kohli (43) and Jadeja (33 not out). Chasing 130, England was reeling at 46/4 in the eighth over as Alastair Cook (2), Jonathan Trott (20), Ian Bell (13), and Joe Root (7) were all sent back to the pavilion.

Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara then steadied the ship for the hosts as the duo put on 64 runs for the fifth wicket. However, with just 20 runs needed to final the championships, England lost the wickets of Morgan (33) and Bopara (30) on successive deliveries of Ishant Sharma.

India won the ICC Champions trophy in 2013 on this day

Skipper Dhoni jumped in joy as the frantic Indian players hugged each other while the others were busy collecting stumps as memorabilia to mark another remarkable chapter in Indian cricket history.

This was India’s second Champions Trophy title having won the first one jointly with Sri Lanka back in 2002. That India won the championship two days before the 30th anniversary of the maiden World Cup triumph back on June 25, 1983.

ALSO READ: Rajeev Shukla Likes BCCI’s Precautions Regarding IPL 2020

Ravindra Jadeja earned the man of the match award for his performance in the final while Shikhar Dhawan was named the man of the series for scoring 363 runs in the tournament.