IPL 2022
Deepak Chahar To Miss Most Parts Of The IPL 2022 Due To Injury?
By CricShots - Mar 2, 2022 7:13 pm
Views 4.4K

The biggest buy of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 mega-auction, Deepak Chahar, is highly likely to miss most parts of the 15th edition of the tournament. Last month, he suffered a quadriceps tear in the third T20I against West Indies last month. As per a report in ESPNcricinfo, Chahar will require more than just a few weeks to recover from the major injury. Since IPL 2022 will be commencing on March 26, there is a high chance that he may miss the whole tournament at all.

Deepak Chahar
Deepak Chahar 

Currently, CSK is waiting on a final report from the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru where Deepak Chahar is rehabilitating. He was one of the most sought-after players in the auction after being impressed with both bat and ball for India.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Will Be Witnessing 25% Crowd At Venues Till April 15

Deepak Chahar was bought by the Chennai franchise for a whopping price of INR 14 crores which is the second most expensive in this year’s auction. CSK swooped in late to secure the bowling all-rounder after Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad bid aggressively for him.

Deepak Chahar
Deepak Chahar got injured in the final T20I against West Indies

Since his debut for CSK, Deepak Chahar has become MS Dhoni’s go-to bowler in the powerplay where he causes the most damage. Chahar is known for swinging the new balls and whenever he is able to extract enough movement, he always provides breakthroughs for the CSK franchise.

ALSO READ: Sanjay Bangar Feels Ishan Kishan Has Sealed His Place As An Opener

Nevertheless, CSK still has quite a few all-rounders who can provide the balance to the side. Ravindra Jadeja and Moeen Ali were retained while Shivam Dube, Mitchell Santner, and Dwayne Bravo were bought at the auction.

CSK squad for IPL 2022 season:

Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Dwayne Bravo, Devon Conway, Subhranshu Senapati, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Prashant Solanki, C Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, K Bhagath Verma, Mukesh Choudhary, Simarjeet Singh, Adam Milne.